“It’s the frien…

“It’s the friends you can call up at 4 a.m. that matter.”
― Marlene Dietrich

“It isn’t a best friend’s job to tell you what you WANT to hear, but it IS their job to tell you what you NEED to hear”
-not sure

“Friends are hard to find. In a lifetime you get only a few. And when you find them, you always know them by sight and heart alone , you always grow a little bit taller in your soul, and you know you have been blessed just to know them.”
-Ashley Rice

There are a few quotes I found on friendship that I liked.  I know it’s more than one but I couldn’t just choose one, they all seem to relate to at least three of my closest friends.

I haven’t been one of those people who’ve always had the huge group of friends that they always hang out and party with.  I’ve never been much for partying, drinking, etc.  I was always made fun of growing up and always seen as an outcast or one that went against the grain.  I am proud of that because I hate being a follower per say and doing something just because everyone else is doing it.  I wasn’t the perfect person, I’ve had my faults and wasn’t always on the receiving end of getting a hard time, I gave it as well.  I’m not proud of it but I guess that’s how it is growing up and it’s made me stronger from just being able to get through it.

I have however, met a few people in my life that are worth keeping around for as long as I can.  I am reminded of that at least once every day because of one of my really good girlfriends I met while in the oilfield.  We had met way back when we were first very new to the field.  I had a few months “senior” to her, not senior at all but you know what I mean… At first I honestly was taken back by her and wasn’t too fond.  This really only comes from the fact I didn’t get along with females all that often.  She talked just as much as me, she liked the same things as me, and she was flirting with the same guy as me (though she says she wasn’t 😛 )…all reasons as to why I didn’t “like” her at first.  Then we started getting to know one another because we would always talk whenever either one of us were having issues on the rig.  I’d call her complaining about so and so and she’d call complaining about how the trailers were always moldy and she ended up working with the worse possible person.  After getting to actually know her she became a VERY good friend of mine, one who is ALWAYS there for me no matter what the issue.  She tells me how it is even though she knows the truth hurts..but she’s also there to catch me after she breaks the news.  No matter what’s going on in her life, what time of day, or whatever the situation is, she’s always there to lend an ear.  Whenever we actually get together we always have a blast doing the stupidest girly things we can possibly come up with.  Heck, the last time we got together we were both not in the greatest of moods and were trying to cheer eachother up and all we did was eat the entire weekend.  We would then go back to the hotel with tubs of icecream.  I love her.  She also had lent me some cash when my bank decided to put a hold thinking someone had stolen my card and was using it in five different states.  It was really because I had driven from PA to OK, from OKC to Boston, from Boston to OKC, and then to hang out with her wen to Dallas so they had thought someone stole it.  She just as iffy on lending people money as I am, so to me it showed me how much she trusted me and valued our friendship.  I honestly don’t know what I would do without her.  I don’t have too many female friends in fact I can count them on two fingers, but for the ones I have I’m very grateful.

This past night/day for me since I’m working the overnights, I was again reminded how I have good friends because someone whom I met on the rigs had texted me.  He’s always been a goof and an arsehole all in one but that’s also me.  We both tell it how it is and it wasn’t until lastnight I realized he’s really got my back.  He told me how it was and told me I’m afraid of being alone and that I need to step up.  Then we just talked for the rest of the night via text because he was on the way to work and yeh.  It was just a real good conversation.

It’s awesome to know how I really do got friends out there that really do watch my back and try and lead me in the right direction.  I may not always listen but they are always there for me.

I do have another friend that I’ve know for about 7 or 8 years now but that is a story for a later time, if I ever get to it.

My other friend is in California, I feel like we have almost lost touch in a way as in we don’t talk to each other as we use to.  Although, recently since she just moved to Cali for school, she has contacted me about various things because she knows how I’ve been moving around a lot and we just talk about being so far from home.  She’s awesome as well and I enjoy talking and helping her out because I was in the same position as her at one point.  She IM’s me via facebook asking if her chicken is thoroughly cooked because she’s afraid of eating raw chicken.  I’ve gone through the same things and I just keep telling her, cook it, take it out and cut it open, see if it’s white and if not stick it back in.  Also, don’t get down on yourself if you end up ruining a few dishes from overcooking it, I have been there many a time.  It’s just nice to see how the wheel keeps turning, you learned from someone and then now you try and teach them the same things.  I know she’ll figure it out and I keep telling her to keep at it and to not give up because one day she will get it.  This friendship is funny only because it was another one where everyone thought her and I wouldn’t get along at all because we are both outgoing and always want the attention.  But we got over ourselves and got along really good.

The only thing that stinks with all of these close friends I have is that they are all spread out over the U.S.  Two are from MA but one is in Cali right now, one is from PA but is in TX (6 hours not so bad) but she works in the Gulf, and then the other is from MI and works in Kentucky.  What’s a girl to do?  Well, I just keep texting and calling, that’s all I can do.

Leave a Reply

